Monday, August 29, 2016

Called Up: A Calling It Novel by Jennifer Doyle - Tasty Virtual Book Tour Stop


Description

Jen Doyle delivers a home run of heart, heat and plenty of laughter in this contemporary romance, perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis's Pacific Heat series

There's one thing Max "Deke" Deacon can always count on besides his old high school teammates: Angelica "Fitz" Hawkins. But no matter how much Deke might secretly fantasize otherwise, a relationship with his best friend's sister is off limits. Until one unexpectedly smoldering encounter has Deke and Fitz giving in to the feelings they've both been fighting for far too long.

Fitz knows for a fact that it is not better to have loved and lost. After losing her parents, she'd rather lock up her heart and throw away the key than endure that kind of pain again. If that means giving up any hope of a lasting relationship, then so be it.

But with Deke, Fitz feels dangerously close to falling in love. She can't risk another broken heart—especially if it means losing one of her best friends for good. Now it's up to Deke to convince her that the safest place she could ever be is right here with him.


Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30237695-called-up


Buy Links:      Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

CLICK HERE TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!


Addicted2Romance Review: 

(ARC received from the author/Netgallery/Tasty Book Reviews for an honest opinion)

I read the first book in the series and I loved it. This is the second book and completely stands alone though I suggest reading book 1 "Calling It" before so you get to know Nate and Dorie as they are pretty significant in this story as well.

This book is about Fitz/Angelica who is Nate's half sister and a close friend to Dorie. As the book starts she is living with Deke/Max's sister Lola who is a widow with triplets. She is helping her out after her military husband died. She also works for a foundation that she started with her brother and his friends.

Deke is Fitz's best friend. But lately he has started to give her funny looks and this story is about two besties falling in love. This story is pretty terrific though book 1 is my favorite. I did not like that Fitz and Deke's relationship was mostly done in secret. I hate that plot device in books and even though it was enjoyable here. I wouldrather have seen the relationship be ut in the open.

The reason its secret is more because Fitz doesn't believe in love. Which I found very understandable. There were two events in Fitz' life that changed her. One was her father and mother died in a tornado. She came to town as an orphan and then discovered that her father's 1st wife and his family lived there too. The first wife adopted her and brought her into her family.

The second event was this evile girl/woman Peggy as a 16 year old girl lured Fitz into a shed and had three guys attack her. Nate rescued her but still it was horrible. The thing is Peggy and Deke have a sexual relationship for 15 years, off and on and that really grossed me out. Now Deke didn't know what she did but she actually had dated his best friend (Nate) so it was gross on her being his ex. But aside from that I can't believe he didn't know Fitz hated her and that she was mean to her.  To keep having sex with her was just so gross even if he didn't know about the indicent in question he had to know she was mean to her and to keep having sex with her knowing she was so mean to his best friend, well it really took away from me liking his character.

So during the book Fitz tries to keep a distance from Deke I totally got that. I am not sure why she stayed friends with him at all while he continued to have sexwith Peggy. I would have distanced myself from him years ago. Even he had no clue about the specific shed incident, he did know they hated each other and he having sex with her felt like the thing you don't do to your best friend.

Anyways I really enjoyed the book otherwise. Peggy is a very small part of the book thank goodness. I really loved seeing Nate and Dorie and how happy they were. I also really loved Fitz. She is a strong female character and I really loved who she was.


Excerpt

“Hey, Dorie,” she heard from above her. “Do you know where Fitz wants these bottles of water?”
Speak of the devil. Fitz brought her head up a little too suddenly, banging it on the underside of the table. “Ouch!” Her hand going to the back of her head, she came up frowning, and...
Oh, God, was he this gorgeous before? Had he always smelled amazing?
Doing everything she could to keep herself immune from his physical charms, she spun on her heel. “Back here.”
Very specifically not looking in Deke’s direction so that she didn’t give anything away, she forced herself to act exactly as she always did around him. Except she suddenly couldn’t quite remember how that was. Did she flirt with him? Did she flat-out ignore him? Did she generally just go around in a state of low-level irritation? Because right now she had absolutely no clue.
She had even less of a clue as she bent down to open up the lid to the cooler and he crouched down next to her, his head so close all he’d need to do was turn it slightly to the left and his mouth would be on her breast.
And was that…?
Oh, hell, no, her nipples had not just hardened. She slapped her arms over her chest.
Because they had. And Deke, with his superhero sex god extra sensory perception, had definitely noticed. He at least had the decency to look down at the ground as he grinned.
“It’s the cold,” Fitz snapped. “From the cooler.”
Pushing the bottles down into the ice, Deke just answered, “You’d be amazed at all the bits and pieces I can warm up with my tongue.” 

About the Author:

A big believer in happily ever afters, Jen Doyle decided it was high time she started creating some. Jen is a member of the Romance Writers of America, as well as a member of the New England, New Jersey Romance Writers and Music City Romance Writer chapters of RWA. She is represented by Sarah E. Younger of the Nancy Yost Literary Agency. She has an M.S. in Library and Information Science and, in addition to her work as a librarian, has worked as a conference and events planner as well as a Communications and Enrollment administrator in both preschool and higher education environments (although some might say that there is very little difference between the two; Jen has no comment regarding whether she is one of the “some”).

Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads



CALLING IT is her first book, the first of two which will be published by Carina Press in 2016. It was the winner of The Beacon, the Finish the Damn Book, and the Melody of Love 2014 contests in the Contemporary Romance category, and was also the Contemporary Romance winner as well as the Grand Prize Winner of the 2014 Gateway to the Best contest.



No comments:

Post a Comment